• Date: 01/03/2016
  • Cemetery: GMCT Home

New appointments to The Greater Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust have been announced, including a new Chair and three new members.


GMCT is governed by nine professional, remunerated trust members appointed by the Government, and the new appointments took effect on 1 March 2016.


Geoff Mabbett, who has been a trust member since 1 March 2013, has been appointed as our new Chair.


In addition, the following have been reappointed:


  1. Di Rule
  2. Jennifer Kearney
  3. Kim McAliney


We also welcome three new trust members:


  1. David Cragg
  2. Dana Hlavacek
  3. Elizabeth Beattie


In addition, the following current trust members were not due for re-appointment and will also continue on the trust:

  1. Dr Jan Penney
  2. Jack Wegman
  3. Jennifer Kearney


GMCT would like to acknowledge outgoing trust members Ronda Jacobs, John Jennison and Roma O'Callaghan for their valuable contributions.


Di Rule, who will continue to serve as a trust member, is also to be congratulated on her outstanding leadership as Chair in recent years.


Our trust will continue to govern, guide and support our organisation in providing compassionate burial, cremation and memorialisation services, and creating community-centred spaces and landscapes where people can honour, commemorate and remember -  not only today, but for generations to come.