• Date: 05/10/2017
  • Cemetery: GMCT Home

In September GMCT welcomed three new trust members, appointed by the Minister for Health under the Cemeteries and Crematoria Act 2003 (Vic).

Beverley Excell, Kevin Quigley and James (Jim) Turcato began their terms on 1 September 2017. Their appointments are for three years.

From left: David Cragg, Liz Beattie, Jan Penney, Dana Hlavacek, Geoff Mabbett, Kevin Quigley, Jim Turcato, Kim McAliney, Beverley Excell.

In addition, the following members were re-appointed to the trust:

  • Dr Jan Penney
  • Ms Kim McAliney

 The following current trust members were not due for re-appointment and will continue on the trust:

  • Mr Geoff Mabbett, Chair
  • Ms Liz Beattie
  • Ms Dana Hlavacek
  • Mr David Cragg

The following trust members retired after completing their appointments:

  • Ms Jennifer Kearney
  • Ms Dianne Rule
  • Mr Jack Wegman

GMCT CEO Jacqui Weatherill acknowledged outgoing trust members Jennifer Kearney, Di Rule and Jack Wegman and the valuable contribution they made to GMCT.

“Their commitment to the trust combined with their expertise and dedication has ensured GMCT maintains its reputation for excellence in governance, responsive and responsible land planning, financial sustainability and community relevance, “ Ms Weatherill said.

“In particular, we acknowledge Di Rule for her guidance and leadership during the period she served as chair, from September 2014- March 2016.”

The trust, comprised of up to nine members, is responsible for the governance of GMCT and ensuring our organisation can serve the community effectively. This includes setting strategic goals that will enable us to meet community needs, approving the annual budget, driving strong organisational performance and ensuring good governance practices.  

Trust members take additional responsibility as chair or members of at least one GMCT committee, such as the community advisory committee.

Visit our about us page to learn more about our trust members and their role. The trust charter is available here

Our new members

Beverley Excell

Beverley (Bev) is an internationally experienced executive and independent non-executive director. She has over 15 years directorship and governance experience across a range of organisation types and sectors.

Bev is currently on the boards of Travellers Aid Australia, the Australasian Association of Philosophy, an advisory governance committee in the tertiary education sector as well as local and state government audit committees. 

Kevin Quigley

Kevin is a chartered accountant and has worked as a senior auditor for several large firms, as the chief financial officer of a large regional hospital and as a director of a medium-sized management consulting practice.

Kevin has a long standing interest in governance and experience as a board member and chair of various board committees, including at the Department of Justice (Victoria), Ballarat University, Dental Health Victoria, Federation Training and the State Library of Victoria. Kevin has also been on the boards of a number of community organisations.

James (Jim) Turcato

Jim is a CPA, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, business consultant and professional finance facilitator.

Jim is an accredited facilitator of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is currently a director and finance, audit and risk management committee chair of Murray City Country Coast GP Training Ltd and a director and audit, risk and finance committee chair of Gippsland PHN.

Jim has previously served as a non-executive director of South East Water Corporation and as a board member and audit committee chair of The Alfred Hospital.